Dream a little dream

Version 2

Happy New Year peeps!

I realise it’s been 2017 for a while now, but I wanted to write this because it’s long overdue. And because I hope to hear your views on this ‘New Year, New Me’ thing, which I personally don’t really care for. I think this is just how glossy magazines gain new readers and increase profits really. But that’s just me. Apart from a couple of years when I did write actual New Year’s Resolutions lists (which clearly went awry and nothing on those lists got done!), I think this is just putting a bit too much pressure on ourselves for the year to come. I believe in dreams and wishes, and I think these should be ingrained deep within your heart and not on a silly list, regardless of when you want these to come true. I do love a good list, but for shopping or people I want to invite to a party, not for my dreams.

On the other hand, I do also believe that we need to work for our dreams and what we believe in. There is no half-assing it: if you know what you want, then go for it. Strive to give your best, to get what you want. But also don’t stress yourself too much. Be gentle. Allow yourself to make mistakes and don’t worry (or try not to). You’ll learn from your mistakes; even though at times it seems like nothing’s going your way, at one  point you’ll see how things will start to get better. I know how it feels when you’re at the end of your powers and patience when you work for something and then you don’t see much change. But I also know that if you keep on going, you will get there. A dear person once said to me that if you have a dream, you should hold on to it and never let go. Because one day, that dream will come true if you keep it in the back of your mind and constantly work for it. And most importantly be respectful. To yourself, to your mind (and sanity!) and to those around you. Because let’s face it: we wouldn’t be able to get where we want to be without the people around us. Good or bad, they are in our life and we have to learn to accept them, respect them and appreciate them for who they really are within. Going back to my glossy magazines idea above: we should learn how to look beyond appearances, job titles, weight, hair etc. That’s all superficial. But let’s not get too absorbed in this right now (I want this post to be light-hearted and positive).

So I guess what I wanted to say  is that I wish that the new year will be filled with health and peace of mind. Because that’s all we need to fuel our concentration and determination. Less stress, less anxiety, more positivity and open mindedness. I’d like to know what your dreams are. And what motivates you.

Breathe, stay positive and do relax from time to time. Allow yourself to dream even if you think it’s silly or impossible to achieve. Like Audrey Hepburn said: Nothing is impossible; the word itself spells I’m possible.   

Love,

T.

Leave a Reply

